Community Members

These members are appointed to the SPA by the Governor of NSW on the recommendation of the Minister for Corrections and at the Governor’s discretion.

Rev. Dr Arthur Ernest Bridge

An assistant priest in Birmingham UK before migrating to Australia in 1981, the Reverend devoted his services to the Catholic Church for almost 40 years before retiring in 2017.  Awarded an Order of Australia (AM) for services to music and the arts and a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for services to youth and the community. 


Kharen Brookes

A managing director’s personal assistant, Ms Brookes has an extensive career in administration and has worked for several national retailers. She is currently completing a degree in Counselling. 


Rosemary Caruana 

A former CSNSW Assistant Commissioner, Ms Caruana has enjoyed an extensive career in criminal justice and human services, holding several senior executive roles including Acting Commissioner CSNSW. She has driven major government reforms across the justice and human services portfolios and holds a Masters, Business Administration and Bachelor of Arts (Psychology) Hons. 


David Clarke 

A former solicitor, Mr Clarke was elected to the NSW Parliament in 2003 – 2019 with roles including NSW Parliamentary Secretary for Justice (2011 – 2019) and Chair and Deputy Chair of the Parliament’s Standing Committee on Law and Justice. Throughout his career he has been extensively involved with numerous ethnic, religious, social and youth community organisations.


Robert Cosman

A former Director and Secretary of the Parole Authority, Mr Cosman’s career in Corrective Services has spanned more than two decades. His experience also included working with juvenile offenders at NSW Youth and Community Services.


Graeme Hanger

Elected councillor on the Bathurst Regional Council in 2008, Mr Hanger has served as the city's Deputy Mayor and Mayor until 2019. A retired high school teacher and leading advocate for his community he was awarded the Order of Australia Medal in 2016 for services to education and the community of Bathurst.


Rod Harvey  

His career with the NSW Police Force spanned 35 years, largely devoted to major crime and the management of major investigations before retiring at the rank of Detective Chief Superintendent. He was awarded the Australian Police Medal, National Police Service Medal and NSW Police Medal. 


Martha Jabour

The SPA's representative for victims, Ms Jabour is the Executive Director Homicide Victims Support Group (Aust.) Inc since 1993 and continues to represent the community and family members of homicide on a range of committees and boards.  She was awarded a medal of the Order of Australia for service to the community through support for victims of homicide. 


Karen Lindley

A gemologist and founder of an opal and diamond business she holds a Fellowship in the Gemmological Association of Australia. Ms Lindley is also the founder of the Purple Angel Society seeking justice for victims of historical sexual assaults and has been made a member of the Order of Australia (AM) for her services to social welfare and the jewellery industry.   


Catriona McComish 

A former Senior Assistant Commissioner, Community Offender Services, CSNSW she is the Director of a consultancy providing clinical, forensic and organisational psychology services to public sector agencies, training groups and NGOs. 


Frank Mennilli 

The former NSW Police Assistant Commissioner retired after 41 years of service devoted largely to criminal investigation and senior management. He is a recipient of the Australian Police Medal, National Police Service Medal and NSW Police Medal.


Megan Miller 

An award-winning journalist, Ms Miller is a highly experienced media expert, public relations executive and reputation management consultant. She has held senior management appointments across a wide range of public and private sector employers including Network Seven, the NSW Police Force, NSW Corrective Services, NSW Ambulance and Sydney Water.  


Peter Severin

The former Commissioner of Corrective Services NSW retired in 2021 after nine years at the helm ending a career spanning almost four decades. He has extensive experience in correctional jurisdictions having held several senior executive positions across Australia. He is President of the International Corrections and Prisons Association and a member of the NSW Sentencing Council.


Donald Sword

On behalf of the NSW Ombudsman, Mr Sword delivers training services to government agencies and NGO’s and is a member of the NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal (Guardianship Division), the NSW Legal Aid Review Committee and the Justice Disability Advisory Council. 


Lloyd Walker

A former Wallaby and acting co-ordinator for the Aboriginal Corporation for Homeless and Rehabilitation Community Services he is also a panel member for the Serious Young Offenders Review Panel. Mr Lloyd is the SPA’s longest serving member. 


Last updated:

16 Feb 2023

We will use your rating to help improve the site.
This field is required
Please don't include personal or financial information here
This field is required
Please don't include personal or financial information here

We acknowledge Aboriginal people as the First Nations Peoples of NSW and pay our respects to Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the ongoing connection Aboriginal people have to this land and recognise Aboriginal people as the original custodians of this land.

Top Return to top of page Top