Who sits on the State Parole Authority?

As at March 2022, the SPA consists of 8 judicial officers, 6 official members (4 serving police officers and 3 community corrections officers) and 16 community members.

SPA panel consider parole matters in a closed meeting

Image: Five members of a State Parole Authority panel sit in the Boardroom for a closed meeting.

The SPA sits in panels of five members for every private parole meeting and every public review hearing.

Each panel of five members comprises is a judicial officer, police officer, community corrections officer and two community members.

Decisions do not need to be unanimous but must be a majority vote of the members.

Judicial officers are acting or retired Judges of a NSW Supreme, District or Local Court or Federal Court or Magistrates or retired magistrates.

Community members are drawn from all walks of life in society and reflect a variety of life experience and professional expertise.

Official members are serving officers representing the NSW Police Force and Corrective Services NSW (CSNSW).


Was this content useful?
We will use your rating to help improve the site.
Please don't include personal or financial information here
Please don't include personal or financial information here

We acknowledge Aboriginal people as the First Nations Peoples of NSW and pay our respects to Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the ongoing connection Aboriginal people have to this land and recognise Aboriginal people as the original custodians of this land.

Top Return to top of page Top